Tuesday, February 16, 2016

New Look for the Eternal Rose Books + Free Short Story

Hi :)

Many of you probably know I blog mostly (and by "blog mostly" I mean run a contest about once a month) over at my Paula Stokes website. In fact I'm running an awesome build-a-book-boyfriend contest over there right now where the winner can see their ideal book boy in a future Paula Stokes novel! But today I wanted to reach out to all of the Secrets of the Eternal Rose fans to make sure you knew you could score a free short story prequel called Disastrous Desire. It's full of glamour and mystery and it has a gorgeous sexy cover that will look fabulous on your e-reader or tablet. See:

“A sensual tale where no one can be trusted and passions kill.”
–Andrea Cremer, New York Times bestselling author of the Nightshade series

Eighteen-year-old Mariabella has recently elevated herself from the rank of common prostitute to the status of courtesan, a respected high-class escort for those men in Venetian society who can afford one. Mariabella steps out to attend a party on the arm of her powerful new patron, certain that the night will be filled with glamour, secrets, and adventure—but the world she has immersed herself in is more dangerous than she believes.

Don’t miss this short story prequel set in the thrilling world of Fiona Paul’s Secrets of the Eternal Rose series. This free story also includes four chapters of Venomous Kiss, the first book in a romantic series tinged with true love and heartbreaking betrayal.


In fact, the book development team Paper Lantern Lit has renamed and redesigned the entire trilogy, so if you wanted to read this series but you've been struggling to find copies of any of the books, they will be widely available again this spring, starting with the re-release of Venom as Venomous Kiss on March 17, 2016.

In the meantime, feast your eyes on the amazing new covers!

Cassandra Caravello has everything a girl could desire: elegant gowns, sparkling jewels, and a handsome, wealthy fiancé—yet she longs for something more. Ever since her parents’ death, Cassandra has felt trapped, alone in a city of water, where the dark and labyrinthine canals whisper of escape.

When Cass stumbles upon the body of a murdered woman, she’s drawn into the dangerous and tempting world of secret societies, courtesans, killers, and a mysterious street artist named Falco, who could be the most dangerous temptation of them all.

Soon, she finds herself falling for Falco, but his habit of getting into trouble could destroy the perfect life Cassandra has built. Will she find the murderer before he finds her? And will she stay true to her fiancé or succumb to her uncontrollable feelings for Falco?

Formerly published as Venom, Fiona Paul’s first installment of the Secrets of the Eternal Rose is perfect for fans of Libba Bray’s A Great and Terrible Beauty.


In the second installment of the Secrets of the Eternal
Rose series, Cassandra Caravello is trying to forget Falco, the wild artist who ran off with her heart, as she grows closer to her strong, steady fiancé, Luca. But Luca has his own share of secrets. When he’s arrested by soldiers in the middle of the night, Cass’s life is once again thrown into chaos. 

So begins her journey to Florence to prove Luca’s innocence. In the city haunted by whispers of vampirism, secret soirees and clandestine meetings of the Order of the Eternal Rose, Cassandra also finds Falco, who is working for the Order’s eerily stunning leader, the Belladonna herself.

Nothing is as it seems in this seductive mystery, where the truth may be the deadliest poison of all.

Formerly published as Belladonna, the second book in the trilogy is perfect for fans of Jennifer Donnelly’s These Shallow Graves.
Available April 12, 2016


Cassandra Caravello and Luca are fugitives, on the run from the law and the deadly Order of the Eternal Rose. As they pursue the only evidence that could save them, their worlds—and their romance— are torn apart by spiteful friends and murderous enemies.

When Cass finds herself ensnared in the Order’s twisted plot, Falco emerges once again as her only hope for freedom…but this time, Luca has a shocking scheme of his own.

From ancient mercenaries to sly magicians, clever courtesans and vengeful killers, no one can be trusted. In the breathtaking conclusion to the Secrets of the Eternal Rose trilogy, Cass must confront the Order and decide where her heart lies, once and for all.

Formerly published as Starling, this romantic mystery is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory’s The Other Boleyn Girl.
Available May 24, 2016

Right now you can pre-order all three titles for .99, 1.99, and 2.99 respectively! That's over 1000 pages of swoony Renaissance mystery for less than $6.00. I'm not sure if these prices will go up, so if you're interested in the books, you might want to snap them up sooner rather than later :)

4 comments:

  1. When will the short story be available as a paper book??

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. This comment has been removed by the author.

      Delete
    2. Whoops. Edited comment because I was thinking about how we first made the story a PDF and distributed it back during the original publication. But for your answer, there will never be a printed copy of the short story. It's quite rare for novellas to be offered in print, even for bestselling series, unless they are HUGE titles with movies/TV shows like the Divergent series.

      Delete